Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Affiliated Sites | Home RSS

All-U.P. Football: Honorable Mention and Special Honor handed out

October 27, 2012
By Journal Sports Staff , The Mining Journal

ESCANABA - Several Superiorland high school football players gained All-Upper Peninsula honorable mention Wednesday at a meeting of the U.P. Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association at Hereford & Hops restaurant in Escanaba.

Those making the special mention list picked up at least two votes in the balloting.

Special mention

Large schools (Divisions 1-7)

Offense: Tanner Uren, senior quarterback, Brock Weaver, senior end, and Dustin Goupille, senior back, of Negaunee; TJ Swanson, senior tight end, Westwood.

Defense: Hunter Wirtanen, Ishpeming, senior back; TJ Swanson, Westwood, senior linebacker.

Small schools

(Div. 8 and player)

Offense: Joe Paquette, Munising, senior center; Keith Denomie, junior guard, and Cody Goldsworthy, senior back, L'Anse.

Honorable mention

Large schools (Div. 1-7)

Offense: Owen DeVooght, Gwinn, junior back; Zach Rankinen, Westwood, senior back; Dustin Crosby, Newberry, senior return specialist; Tyrus Millimaki, Ishpeming, junior return specialist.

Defense: Steve Uhlbeck, Gwinn, senior linebacker; James Young, Newberry, senior linebacker; Dustin Goupille, Negaunee, senior linebacker.

Small schools

(Div. 8 and player)

Offense: Trevor Maki, Superior Central, senior back.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web