Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Affiliated Sites | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS
Brewer earns Eagle Scout Award

December 23, 2015 Boy Scout Seth Brewer of Troop 321 in Ishpeming recently earned his Eagle Scout Award and is shown having it pinned on by his mother, Bonnie Brewer. more »»

Carter wins MJ contest

December 23, 2015 Doug Carter, winner of The Mining Journal’s 2016 calendar photo contest, accepts his prize Tuesday from advertising representative Iris Charmer for two submissions. more »»

Tadgerson ends basic training

December 23, 2015 NEGAUNEE — Pvt. Austin C. Tadgerson, 19, of Negaunee graduated from U.S. Marine Corps boot camp at Marine Corps Recruit Depot in San Diego on Nov. 20. more »»

FMMS students back technology effort

December 23, 2015 Father Marquette Catholic Middle School students Rianna Modell, Ian Parkkonen, Katriona Voogd, Tommy Marquardt, Andy Pillifant, and Amanda Diddams present a $460 check to principal Michael Hedges. more »»

Portside Inn donates to vets home

December 23, 2015 The Portside Inn restaurant recently made a donation of 30 sweatshirts — a $560 value — to the Jacobetti Home for Veterans. more »»

Negaunee TOPS marks 45 years

December 23, 2015 TOPS MI 0934 in Negaunee recently received a certificate for being an active chapter of TOPS Club Inc. For 45 years. more »»

UP North supports Gwinn food pantry

December 23, 2015 Part for the donation from Take over the Tap at The UP North Lodge, amounting to $125 and 33 pounds of food, was donated to St Vincent de Paul food pantry in Gwinn. more »»

Econo Foods supports skating teams

December 23, 2015 Gabriela Mackey of the Marquette High School figuring skating team and Marquette Figure Skating Club receives checks from Zach Quinnell, manager of Tadych’s Econo Foods in Marquette. more »»

Names and Faces

December 19, 2015 NHS honor roll announced NEGAUNEE — The following students were named to the first quarter honor roll at Negaunee High School: ? Ninth grade — with distinction, All A’s, Maci Aho, Peyton Anderson,... more »»

SHF donates funds to Munising Public Schools

December 18, 2015 The Superior Health Foundation recently presented Munising Public Schools with a $1,744. more »»

NARFE Chapter 1900 elects officers for 2016

December 18, 2015 Chapter 1900 of the National Active and Retired Federal Employees elected the following officers for 2016 at its November meeting, from left: Clyde Morgan, first vice president; Ken Anderson, second... more »»

GMS honor students listed

December 16, 2015 GWINN — The following students have been named to the first quarter honor roll at Gwinn High School (* denotes all A’s): - Ninth grade — Seth Aho, Amanda Anderson, Julian Beltz, Mason Bockert, Megan... more »»

GMS honor roll announced

December 16, 2015 GWINN — The following students have been named to the first quarter honor roll at Gwinn Middle School (* denotes all A’s) - Sixth grade — Hope Andrews*, Tambria Baldwin, Jonathan Barnes, Sherrie... more »»

Munising honor roll named

December 16, 2015 MUNISING — Munising Middle/High School students named to the honor roll for the first quarter include (* denotes 4. more »»

Top Powell students listed

December 16, 2015 BIG BAY — The following students have been named to the first marking period honor roll at Powell Township School: - Zoie Havel (all A’s), Sophia Santilli, Annie Beerman, Connor Phillips, Xavier... more »»

ARMS students of 1/4 named

December 16, 2015 ISHPEMING — The following Aspen Ridge Middle School students were named students of the quarter for the first quarter: - Sixth grade — Samantha Perrault, Dylan Solomon, Zach Villeneuve and Nautica... more »»

INNCS honor roll announced

December 16, 2015 NEGAUNEE — The following Ishpeming-Negaunee-NICE Community Schools students were named to the honor roll for the first marking period: Rebecca Broeders, Samantha Croschere, Amanda Hakkarinen, Austin... more »»

Historical society elects officers

December 16, 2015 NEGAUNEE — The Negaunee Historical Society elected officers for 2016 at its annual meeting on Dec. 1. more »»

MTU scholarship finalists named

December 16, 2015 HOUGHTON — Richard Vermeulen of Marquette Senior High School and Grant Johnson of Negaunee High School are among 41 high school seniors who are Michigan Tech University Leading Scholar finalists. more »»

Lasco supports United Way

December 15, 2015 Lois Ellis, left, senior vice president of Lasco, presents a donation to Barbara Meyer, director of operations for the United Way of Marquette County. more »»



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web