Negaunee competes in High School Bowl

The Negaunee Miners played the Houghton Gremlins in the second round of High School Bowl and were defeated by a score of 370-170. Forty schools from the Upper Peninsula and Northern Wisconsin field teams for Public TV 13’s High School Bowl tournament, now celebrating 41 years on the air. Running from November through the championship game in April, the High School Bowl series airs on Public TV 13 Saturdays at 8 p.m. and Mondays at noon. Find more information on the 2018-2019 tournament at wnmutv.nmu.edu. Representing Negaunee, seated from left, are players Alec Prusi, Thomas Kinjorski, team captain Josh Randall and Elijah Barchue. Standing are alternates Timothy Ziegler and Ethan Wright with Coach Gina Sorensen. Players for Houghton are, seated from left, Sam Fang, team captain Kate Desrochers, George Manson and Brian Knewtson. Standing is alternate Yash Tiwari with Coach Rebecca Keyes. High School Bowl host Jim Koski is standing at lower left. Major production funding for High School Bowl is provided by The Ray & Peg Hirvonen Foundation, and by Janice Mills of Escanaba, and by the Donald & Audrey Anderson Foundation. Local support is provided by 21 Upper Peninsula Credit Unions.