Panel approves 3 capital projects

MARQUETTE — The Northern Michigan University Board of Trustees Friday approved three capital projects.

It authorized $20.5 million for the Don H. Bottum University Center renovation. The two-year project will be completed in phases, with construction scheduled to begin in May, according to a press release from the university.

The remaining capital projects include phase II of the forensic research laboratory on campus, at a cost of $150,000, and renovations to the Superior Dome football office and academic area. The latter would cost $700,000, but is contingent upon achieving a private fundraising goal.

In other action at Friday’s meeting, the board:

– Approved a new bachelor’s of applied science in management degree program through the College of Business, effective fall 2018;

– Elected Robert Mahaney of Marquette as chair of the board for calendar year 2018 and Steve Mitchell of West Bloomfield as vice chair;

– Authorized the NMU administration to charge a differential tuition rate for targeted online programs or partnerships with high schools and community colleges that is at or below existing published rates;

– Agreed to change the name of Academic Information Services to Library and Instructional Support, effective Jan. 1;

– Approved naming the Forest Roberts Theatre lobby the Lambda Chi Alpha Lobby;

– Agreed that NMU will continue the 80/20 cost-sharing arrangement with employees for annual health care costs, pursuant to Michigan Public Act 152;

– Granted professor emeritus status to Patrick Brown, biology, and Mary Jane Tremethick, health and human performance;

– Approved the following Public School Academy board appointments: Kimberly Hedges, Bahweting Public School Academy, through June 30, 2020; David Bearss, Francis Reh Public School Academy, through June 30, 2018; and David Wiegand, North Star Academy, through June 30, 2020;

– Approved board standing committee appointments. The finance committee will be composed of Chairman James Haveman and Trustees Scott Holman and Lisa Fittante. The academic affairs committee will be composed of Chairwoman Tami Seavoy and trustees Rick Popp and Alexis Hart.