L’Anse’s Waara, Rajala earn West PAC boys’ honors

By Journal Sports Staff

L’ANSE — Co-champions led to co-Coaches of the Year which also ended up putting an extra player on the First Team for the West PAC in its recently chosen boys basketball honors as made by the coaches.

Calumet and West Iron County shared the conference title with 7-1 records as each coach, the Copper Kings’ Mike Ojala and Wykons’ Dan Schive, were named the top coach.

L’Anse (2-6) had a First Team member in junior guard Reese Waara and honorable mention with junior forward Alec Rajala.

A tie for the last position meant six players made First Team, with the usual five on the Second Team and only two honorable mentions.

No tiebreaker was needed to name junior guard Matt Ojala of Calumet as the Player of the Year.

Here are the balance of the honorees, with year, position and school:

First Team — George Butvilas, jr. guard, Houghton; Steven Nelson, sr. center, WIC; Travis Ojala, jr. forward, Calumet; Caden Pellizzer, jr. guard, WIC; Bradley Sirard, soph. guard, Houghton.

Second Team — Devin Raasio, jr. forward, Hancock; James Swanson, jr. forward, WIC; Neil Tomasoski, sr. guard, WIC; Cooper Twardzik, sr. center, Calumet; Joe Watson, jr. guard, Hancock.

Honorable mention — Elijah McParland, soph. forward, Calumet.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.