Mustangs’ Wendt, Mattson sweep major Skyline Conference basketball awards

Munising’s Kianne Wendt takes a shot in action during a game against Gwinn Jan. 4 at Gwinn High School. Wendt was named Skyline Central Conference girls basketball Player of the Year. She had been Player of the Year in Skyline volleyball during the fall sports season. (Journal file photo by Corey Kelly)

By Journal Sports Staff

MUNISING — Senior Kianne Wendt and coach Matt Mattson carted off the major awards when Skyline Central Conference coaches came up with their girls basketball honors recently.

Wendt was named Player of the Year after earning the same honor for Skyline volleyball in the fall.

And Mattson was named Coach of the Year for guiding the Mustangs to a 19-1 overall and 11-0 league record to win the league’s Large Schools Division.

Four other Munising players won six more awards, while Superior Central claimed two awards of its own.

Two Mustangs doubled up on awards as senior sisters Marissa Ackerman and Kelsea Ackerman both were named to the league’s Second Team and its All-Defensive Team.

Junior teammate Michaela Werner earned a spot on the First Team, while junior Daryn Johnson was an honorable mention.

The Cougars garnered a First Team honor for senior Emma Rondeau and honorable mention for senior Tori Tyner.

Junior Hailee Demers of Bark River-Harris was named the league’s Defensive Player of the Year award, while Rapid River earned the Team Sportsmanship award and the Rockets’ Shelby LaCosse the Individual Sportsmanship honor.

And Mid Peninsula senior Haley Trudell and Stephenson junior Autumn Rasner shared the Free Throw Award for making 81 percent of their attempts.

Here are the rest of the awards, listed with the player’s year and school:

First Team — Sara Sivula, sr., Carney-Nadeau; Megan Robinette, sr., Bark River-Harris; JuliAnn Wickman, sr., North Dickinson; Autumn Rasner, jr., Stephenson; Hannah Cross, sr., Forest Park.

Second Team — Elizabeth Goodacre, sr., Rapid River; Haley Trudell, sr., Mid Peninsula; Holli Stapleton, jr., Big Bay de Noc; Brooke Dalgord, sr., BBdN; Hailee Demers, jr., BR-H; Sierra Debelak, soph., BR-H.

Honorable mention — Lauryn Bloniarz, jr., BR-H; Taylor Linder, sr., C-N; Taylor Honkala, sr., FP; Mercedes Simmons, soph., FP; Kennedy Englund, soph., MP; Natalie Dombrowski, sr., North Central; Chloe Wells, jr., NC; Briana Smith, soph., ND; Hannah Clark, soph., ND; Haley Clifford, jr., Norway; Karlee Kuntze, jr., Stephenson; Emily Johnson, soph., Stephenson; Layla Blahnik-Thoune, jr., C-N.

All-Defensive Team — Kennedy Englund, soph., MP; Elizabeth Goodacre, sr., RR; Haley Clifford, jr., Norway; Briana Smith, soph., ND; Hannah Cross, sr., FP.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is