The power of the Patriots

Class of 2012 defeats Class of 2014, advances to Blue Division Championship

By Journal Sports Staff

ISHPEMING — The Westwood High School’s Class of 2012 doubled up the Class of 2014 by a 12-6 score Monday night at the 17th Annual Westwood Alumni Softball Tournament.

The 2012 team now advances to the Blue Division Championship where it will play the Class of 2008 today at 4 p.m at Sunnyside Field.

Jarrett Davidson, who earned the win on the mound for the 2012s, said the tournament is an event many look forward to all year.

“It’s always a fun time out here with your classmates,” Davidson said.

“It doesn’t matter if you’ve played this game before because it’s fun to come out and see everyone. We played really well and everyone had a fun time.”

The 2014 team jumped out early with two runs in the top of the first inning before the 2012s countered with four runs in the bottom half of the frame to take a two-run lead.

Jake Palomaki tacked on a run in the second inning to extend the 2012s’ lead to 5-2, but the 2014s scored four runs over the course of the third and fourth innings to go back on top 6-5.

The lead wouldn’t last long though as 2012 responded with runs from Matt Annala, Tanner Truscott and Palomaki to go ahead 8-6.

The 2012 team added four insurance runs in the sixth to seal the win.

Davidson said his specialized high pitches gave his team a key advantage in the win.

“I played a little slow pitch in the past, and when you can throw the pitch a little higher to younger kids they usually struggle,” Davidson said.

“It’s fun to see kids swing the bat at those pitches they’ve never seen. But they usually tend to have a little more speed and a bit more daring than the older classes.”

Annala, who played right field, said his team stayed determined throughout the game no matter the score.

“We just kept hitting single after single,” Annala said.

“Everyone was pretty consistent and not many people hit a lot of pop-ups.

“Defensively our infield was strong. I barely had any work in the outfield, so they really played well for us and didn’t commit any errors.”

Class of 2012’s Tanner Truscott said mid-summer softball tournaments help bring the community together over the Fourth of July.

“It’s a good time to come back home and see people you graduated with,” Truscott said.

“It’s also awesome to play some football and catch up with everyone.”

 On Sunday, the second day of the tournament, the 2012 team defeated the Class of 2015, 10-9 with the help of two inside-the-park home runs from Truscott. Katie Rankinen had three hits, one being a triple for the 2015s.

The Class of 2008 defeated the Class of 2007 9-8 and the 2017 squad 7-1 on Saturday. The 2008s then took down the Class of 2016 7-1 on Sunday to reach the title game.

Dan Nelson and Chelsie Wealton had two hits apiece for the 2008s, while Josey Moyle had two hits for the 2016s.

There were several other results from the tournament Sunday.

The Class of 2014 squeaked by the 2006 squad 11-10 Sunday. Derek Wing and Lizzy VanBuren both had three hits and a homer for the 2014s, while Justin LaMere notched four hits for the 2006s.

The 1992 team beat the Class of 2000 14-7 with the help of a triple and a double from Scott Blixt. Kirk Williams picked up three hits for the 2000s. The Class of 1998 took care of business against the 1994 team 10-3 with Jeremy Steele getting a triple and Kurt Huot notching three hits. Dan Mason had three hits for the 1994s.

After the 1996/97 team won by forfeit over the Class of 2004/05, the next three games were tight contests. The Class of 2003 defeated the 1993 team 5-4 with Dave Bess picking up the game-winning RBI. Dave LeClair had three hits for the 1993s.

The Class of 1981/82/83 outlasted the 1984/85 team in 10 innings. Brad Bessner and Charlie Holmes both had three hits for the 81/82/83s, while Ray Carlson had three for the 84/85s.

Finally, the Class of 1988 defeated the 1986 team. Jeff Wood socked the game-winning three-run homer for the 1988s and Steve Moyle also homered. Dean Stetson had three hits for the 1986s.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Writers Ray Bressette and Ryan Stieg. His email address is