Munising Mustangs’ Anthony Mattson named boys basketball Player of the Year in Skyline Central Conference

Dollar Bay’s Conner LeClaire dribbles in the backcourt around Munising defender Anthony Mattson during their MHSAA Division 4 regional tournament game held at Lakeview Memorial Gym in Negaunee on March 5. (Houghton Daily Mining Gazette photo by Jamie Glenn)

By Journal Sports Staff

FELCH — Senior Anthony Mattson of Munising was recently named the Player of the Year for the Skyline Central Conference in boys basketball.

His Mustangs’ team was co-champions with Rapid River of the Large Schools Division in the conference.

Several other players from Munising and Superior Central earned other league honors, too.

Mustangs senior Jesse Matson earned a spot on the league’s First Team, while a player from each school was named to the All-Defensive Team — Munising senior Josh Huotari and SC senior D.J. Johns.

And Huotari and Cougars senior Beau Rondeau were placed on the honorable mention list.

Rapid River’s Richard Poma was named Coach of the Year, while Rockets junior Tyler Sundling earned Defensive Player of the Year.

In addition, Joe McNally of Mid Peninsula earned the Individual Sportsmanship Award while Trey Doda of Norway won the Free Throw Award.

Team-wise, Carney-Nadeau was named varsity champion of the Small Schools Division and Munising the Large Schools Division champion in JV.

Team Sportsmanship was shared by Big Bay de Noc and Mid Pen.

Here are other individual honors named by the league:

First Team — Sundling, RR (unanimous); Brett LaFord, jr., C-N; Joey Starzynski, sr., Stephenson; Griffin Johnson, sr., North Central; Matthew Bruette, sr., North Dickinson; Riley Hendrickson, sr., Forest Park

Second Team — Max Baulmer, jr., C-N; Kody Hendricks, jr., Norway; Max Nylund, sr., FP; Zach Englund, jr., MP; Tony DeMars, jr., RR; Noah Gorzinski, jr., NC; Hunter Debelak, sr., Bark River-Harris

All-Defensive Team — Carter Zawacki, BR-H; LaFord, C-N; Mike Flanagan, C-N; Nylund, FP; Englund, MP; Cole Timblin, NC; Bruette, ND; Bryce Kuehnau, Stephenson

Honorable mention — Riley Bray, jr., BR-H; Alex LaLonde, sr., BBdN; Kellen Thill, sr., BBdN; Beau Koffman, soph., C-N; Joe McNally, jr., MP; Brady Eichmeier, sr., NC; Joe Roell, sr., ND; Braydon Moss, jr., RR; Merlin Thoune, sr., Stephenson

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is