4 area schools represented on Mid-Peninsula Conference boys basketball First Team

Gwinn’s Tucker Taylor drives to the basket as Negaunee’s Drew DuShane defends in the third quarter of their MHSAA Division 3 district tournament championship game played at Lakeview Memorial Gym in Negaunee on March 1. Taylor was named First Team and DuShane All-Defensive Team in the Mid-Peninsula Conference. (Photo courtesy Daryl T. Jarvinen)

NEGAUNEE — Thirteen area players earned honors when the Mid-Peninsula Conference recently announced it boys basketball award winners.

Four area boys were listed on the First Team, four more on the Second Team, three for honorable mention, and two others who didn’t receive other recognition made it on the league’s All-Defensive Team.

Undefeated league champion Iron Mountain had each co-Player of the Year, junior Marcus Johnson and sophomore Foster Wonders.

Making it on the First Team from the area were junior Jason Waterman of Negaunee and seniors Tucker Taylor of Gwinn, Nathan Beckman of Westwood and Gavin Sundberg of Ishpeming.

A pair of Miners earned their way onto the Second Team — juniors Jakson Sager and Drew Lindberg. From the area, they were joined by senior Austin Forbes of Gwinn and Blake Hewitt of Westwood.

Area honorable mention selections were seniors Darius Yohe of Ishpeming and Kanton Lauzon of Manistique, and junior Ty Alderton of Westwood.

Taylor and Sundberg were joined on the All-Defensive Team by junior Drew DuShane of Negaunee and senior Zach Niemi of Westwood.

Here are the balance of honorees:

1st Team — Reece Castor, sr., Gladstone

2nd Team — Jaden Vicenzi, sr., Iron Mountain (also All-Defensive Team); Charlie Gerhard, sr. IM; Carson Shea, sr., Gladstone

Honorable mention — Jared Crow, sr., Gladstone; Tony Feira, jr., IM

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.