Munising’s Kianne Wendt tops in Skyline Central Conference volleyball

Munising’s Kianne Wendt prepares for a spike to Superior Central in a regular-season match on Thursday night at Superior Central High School. (Journal photo by Rachel Oakley)

MARQUETTE — Led by Player of the Year Kianne Wendt, co-champion Munising placed five players and Superior Central had two on the Skyline Central Conference honors teams released by the league on Monday.

Both Alger County schools had a member of the First Team and Second Team, with Munising adding two honorable mention selections.

Wendt led the Mustangs to a 9-2 varsity record, which tied Stephenson for best among the league’s Large Schools.

Junior teammate Emily Contreras was named to the First Team.

Senior Emma Rondeau earned SC’s First Team berth after the Cougars went 5-6 in league matches.

Representing their schools on the Second Team were Munising junior Daryn Johnson and SC senior Mollie Lancour, while on the honorable mention list was Mustangs juniors Michaela Werner and Marissa Ackerman.

Carney-Nadeau, which carried the Small Schools title with a 10-1 record, won three of the special awards — the Wolves earned the Team Sportsmanship honor, sophomore Alanis Harris was named Defensive Specialist and Steve Kedsch was named Coach of the Year.

Individual Sportsmanship honors went to senior Maddie McPhee of Big Bay de Noc and junior Ada VanHalla of Norway.

The balance of the league’s First Team included C-N Harris and senior Sara Silva, North Dickinson senior Juliann Wickman and junior Sami Borvan, Norway junior Haley Clifford, Stephenson junior Karlee Kuntze and Forest Park senior Hannah Cross.

The remainder of the Second Team was C-N senior Sara Jackson, Forest Park senior Taylor Honkala, Rapid River senior Shelby LaCosse, Bark River-Harris senior Faith Jorasz, Norway junior Allie Sheski and Mid Peninsula senior Haley Trudell.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is