Munising’s Marissa Ackerman, Westwood’s Chris Jackson earn top Upper Peninsula Division 2 girls tennis honors

Munising’s Marissa Ackerman returns the ball during a No. 1 singles match at Gwinn High School on Aug. 23. (Journal file photo by Rachel Oakley)

IRON RIVER — Munising senior Marissa Ackerman and Westwood coach Chris Jackson lead a contingent of 21 honorees from area schools with Division 2 All-Upper Peninsula girls tennis awards earlier this week.

Ackerman was named the Player of the Year while Jackson was named Coach of the Year.

Ackerman, also a D-2 All-U.P. First Team Singles player, is joined by Madison Pruett of Ishpeming, Kelsea Ackerman of Munising, Marissa Carello of Westwood and Madelyn Koski of Westwood.

Earning First Team honors in doubles are Jadyn Andriacchi and Kassidy Pirkola of Ishpeming and Karlie Kargela and Karlie Patron of Westwood.

Honorable mentions in singles went out to area players Taylor Jancsi of Gwinn, Emma Bleau of Ishpeming, Kennedy Tate of Munising, Bailey DeAugustine of Westwood and Tessa Leece of Westwood.

Doubles tandems earning honorable mention from the area were Raina Humphrey and Molly McCarthy of Gwinn, Taletha Witty and Kianne Wendt of Munising and Aubrie Magnuson and Tess Perrow of Westwood.

Here are the other honorees from schools out of the area:

First team — Singles: Makenzie Marshall, Ironwood; Saylor Swartout, Iron Mountain; Jorden Stoner, Iron Mountain; Katarina Serbentas, West Iron County; and Colbi Laturi, WIC. Doubles: Kinley Lyons and Hayley Jarocki, Ironwood; Miranda Julian and Lindsay Morel, IM; Natalie Tomasoski and Eden Golliher, WIC; and Emily Nelson and Tori Bociek, WIC.

Honorable mention — Singles: McKenna Anderson, Ironwood; and Izzy Hoogenboom, WIC. Doubles: Katelyn Cherette and Sophia Schinderle, IM.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is