Emily Paupore, Colton Yesney sweep individual titles for Negaunee at El Harger cross country meet in Munising

MUNISING — A week ago, Daisy Englund rolled her ankle halfway through the Superior Central Invitational cross country meet and had to be carried off the course.

Six days later, the Mid Peninsula freshman showed no ill effects from the mishap as she placed 10th in Tuesday’s El Harger Memorial Invitational, covering the 3.1-mile course at Pictured Rocks Golf Club in 21 minutes, 44 seconds.

“The ankle didn’t feel bad at all,” she said. “It was a pretty normal race.”

Negaunee captured the overall and Division 1 title with 60 points. Sault Ste. Marie, which ran without two of its top three runners, had 98. The Blue Devils were followed by D-3 champion Chassell with 110, D-2 winner St. Ignace 142 and Munising in fifth with 183. Ishpeming was ninth with 215 points and Newberry 15th with 368. Superior Central and Republic-Michigamme had runners but not enough to post a team score.

“I like the competition,” Englund said. “I had a chance to see how I could do against the girls from larger schools. I think this will help me. It’s fun to run against people I don’t see very often.”

Negaunee sophomore Emily Paupore won the girls race in 19 minutes, 20.4 seconds, followed by senior teammate Clara Johnson in 19:56.9. Munising junior Madeleine Peramaki was third in 20:40.2, Chassell junior Lela Rautiola fourth in 20:42.5 and Munising senior Alyssa Webber fifth in 20:46.4.

“My goal was to break 19 minutes,” Paupore said. “It was a little disheartening when I first saw the clock, then I just tried to beat my time from the previous meet.

“Breaking 19 (minutes) is in my head constantly. I tried to do the first mile in 5:50 and did a 5:49. At that point, I felt I had a little bit of leeway.

“Although, I’m really not disappointed. Clara ran a good race, too. She was definitely pushing me. I run with the boys on the weekends and they help me a lot.”

Superior Central sophomore Danika Walters placed 12th in 21:48.8.

The Houghton boys were crowned overall and D-1 champions with 51 points, followed by D-2 champ Ishpeming with 74, Negaunee 105, Sault Ste. Marie 117 and D-3 winner Chassell 154. Newberry was seventh with 275, Munising 10th with 297, R-M 14th with 359 and Westwood 18th with 449. Gwinn and Manistique also fielded runners, but not enough for a team score.

Senior Colton Yesney made it an individual sweep for Negaunee by winning the boys race in 16:05.8, followed by Houghton seniors Clayton Sayen in 16:45.5 and Seth Helman in 17:18.9 in second and third, respectively, and Ishpeming junior Spencer Giroux in 17:26.7 and sophomore Jonah Broberg in 17:30.1 placing fourth and fifth, respectively. Negaunee’s Eric Anderson was sixth in 17:31.9.