Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Affiliated Sites | Home RSS

Prep cross country: Marquette's Rieboldt named U.P. Runner of the Year

Marquette’s Phillips voted Division 1 U.P. Coach of the Year

October 25, 2013
By Journal Sports Staff ( , The Mining Journal

ISHPEMING - Cole Rieboldt of Marquette Senior High School won a lot of cross country races this season.

Thursday, he took one more award. He was named the Upper Peninsula Boys' Runner of the Year by the U.P. Cross Country Coaches Association.

Rieboldt, who took up the sport only this season, was also named to the All-U.P. Dream Team with teammate Lance Rambo.

Another Superiorland runner - Brett Hannah of Munising - also made the seven-member list, as did Jared Joki of Ironwood, Connor Cappaert of Stephenson, David Jazsczak of Houghton and Nate Carey of Kingsford.

Kameron Burmeister of Menominee earned the U.P. Girls Runner of the Year award. She also made the All-U.P. Dream Team.

Others making that squad were Lindsey Rudden and Amber Huebner of Marquette, Abby Tembruell of Hancock, Leigha Woelfer of Gladstone, Kaylee Hoolsema of Rudyard and Lily Calcaterra of St. Ignace.

Fact Box

All-U.P. cross country

Dream Team

Boys - Cole Rieboldt and Lance Rambo, Marquette; Jared Joki, Ironwood; Connor Cappaert, Stephenson; David Jazsczak, Houghton; Nate Carney, Kingsford; Brett Hannah, Munising.

Girls - Kameron Burmeister, Menominee; Lindsey Rudden and Amber Huebner, Marquette; Leigha Woelffer, Gladstone; Abbey Tembruell, Hancock; Kaylee Hoolsema, Rudyard; Lily Calcaterra, St. Ignace.


Division 1 - Cole Rieboldt, Lance Rambo, Brady Aboussleman, Logan Zueger Troy Sergey, Marquette; David Jazsczak, Jacob Colling and Isaac Stone, Houghton; Nate Carey, Kingsford; Joey Wolfe, Eric Cousineau and Tyler Hardwick, Escanaba; Gunther DeDamos and Davey Luplow, Menominee; Devin Berg and Mitch Delong, Calumet; Keenan Gantz and Grant Johnson, Negaunee; Ethan Twardy, Sault Ste. Marie.

Division 2 - Jared Joki, Michael Barto and Tim Lorenson, Ironwood; Brad Gustafson, Andrew Sjogren, Jacob Sjogren and Martin Donakowski, St. Ignace; Justin Anderson, Norway; Kazmine Langness, Mark Holmgren, Daren Guichin, Derek Mahosky and Matt Ferratt, Ishpeming; Hayden Heikkinen, Jacob Jarvis, Gabe Rupright and Murphy Mallow, Hancock; Ryan Hunt and Skyler Dakota, Westwood; Robert Ayotte, Manistique.

Division 3 - Connor Cappaert, Stephenson; Zach Mazurek, Bessemer; Seth Polfus, Bryce Holle and Josh Granquist, North Central; Nick Maki, Superior Central; Dionte Blahnik, Carney-Nadeau; Kyle Leclaire and Tom Autio, Dollar Bay; Jacob Anderzjak, Alec Firack and Jonathan McBain, Pickford; Kevin Semmens and Anthony Harris, Painesdale Jeffers; Brett Hannah and Andrew Busk, Munising; Sam Dean, Wakefield-Marenisco; John-Henry Kibit, Marquette North Star Academy.


Division 1 - Kameron Burmeister and Rebekah Wickman, Menominee; Lindsey Rudden, Amber Huebner, Nichole Mackey, Calla Martysz, Shayla Huebner, Abigail Potts and Cassidy Thomas, Marquette; Leigha Woelffer, Gladstone; Leah Kiilunen Chelsae Jacques, Cory Miller and Abbey Helppi, Calumet; Aimee Giese, Escanaba; Michaela Rushford and Josie Roos, Sault Ste. Marie; Noelle Polakowski, Houghton; Wyleen Kniola, Negaunee.

Division 2 - Abbey Tembreull, Erin Mckenzie, Kaylor Holmstrom, Ashley Aho, Anna Meese and Madisyn Wright, Hancock; Lily Calcaterra, Rosy Shimkovitz, Katie O'Rourke and Callie Kammers, St. Ignace; Natalie Beaulieu, Taylor Bryant and Bridget Stoetzer, Newberry; Kyra Johnson and Alexis Kallenbach, Norway; Jessica Gering, Ironwood; Tori Harris, West Iron County; Khora Swanson, Ishpeming; Anastasia Bjork, Westwood; Holly Blowers, Manistique.

Division 3 - Kaylee Hoolsema, Rudyard; Marissa Immel, Anna Baij and Julia Jacques, Munising; Emma Bohn, Alexis Barr, Leila Schlosser, Cedarville; Emily Chartrand, Brimley; Carli Gratopp, Paradise; Heidi Hagen and Haley Lamb, Pickford; Cami Daavettila, Dollar Bay; Lily Wierenga, Bessemer; Julia Pietila and Shitaey Sam, Chassell.


Male Runner of the Year - Cole Rieboldt, Marquette

Female Runner of the Year - Kameron Burmeister, Menominee

Team of the Year

Large schools - Marquette boys and girls

Small schools - St. Ignace boys and Munising girls

Coach of the Year

Division 1 - Dale Phillips, Marquette

Division 2 - Matt Dennis, Hancock and Emily Fullerton, St. Ignace

Division 3 - Jerry Root, North Central and Eric Teysen, Pickford.

Dale Phillips of MSHS pocketed the Division I Coach of the Year nod. In Division 2, Matt Dennis of Hancock and Emily Fullerton of St. Ignace share the award; in Division 3, Eric Teysen of Pickford and Jerry Root of North Central are co-winners for the coaching nod.

Marquette took the boys' U.P. Large Team of the Year honor, while St. Ignace claimed the Small Team of the Year designation.

For the girls, it was Marquette and Munising, respectively, that pocketed UCCCA team honors.

Superiorland runners who earned all-state recognition by placing in the top 10 of the U.P. Finals were:


Division 1 - Rambo, Rieboldt and Brady Aboussleman of Marquette.

Division 2 - Kazmine Langness of Ishpeming; and Ryan Hunt of Westwood.

Division 3 - Nick Maki of Superior Central; and Hannah of Munising.


Division 1 - Rudden, Huebner, Nichole Mackey, Calla Martysz and Shayla Huebner of Marquette.

Division 2 - Natalie Beaulieu of Newberry; Khora Swanson of Ishpeming; and Anastasia Bjork of Westwood.

Division 3 - Marissa Immel of Munising.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web