Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Affiliated Sites | Home RSS

Westwood BPA students qualify for national competition

May 3, 2013
The Mining Journal

ISHPEMING - A dozen Westwood High School Business Professionals of America students have qualified to compete for awards at the National Leadership Conference in Orlando, Fla., next week.

The students who qualified for the national event at the State Leadership Conference and their awards from the state event include: Rachel Anderson, first place in basic office systems & procedures; Megan Chapman, first place in advanced office systems & procedures; Gabi Kautz, first place in advanced word processing skills and fifth place in legal office procedures; Francois Montbrun, first place in legal office procedures; Kaitlyn Seelen, first place in integrated office applications; Courtney Beauchamp, second place in legal office procedures; Emily Bertucci, silver medal in management/marketing/human resources concepts and third place in administrative support research project-individual; Michael Farley, third place in fundamental spreadsheet applications; Addi Hollinshead, bronze medal in insurance concepts; Emily Carlson, fifth place in keyboarding production; Daniel Irish, fifth place in payroll accounting; and Leah Racine, seventh place in graphic design promotion.

Competition began with regional competition in Escanaba, where 28 WHS students competed with more than 350 students from around the Upper Peninsula. Nineteen of those WHS students qualified to compete at the State Leadership Conference in Grand Rapids in March, where the dozen WHS students qualified for the national competition.

Article Photos

The Westwood High School Business Professionals of America team includes: Front row, from left, Caitlin Hewitt, Kaitlyn Seelen, Joseph Claud, Leah Racine, Gabi Kautz, Rachel Anderson and Lexi Nelson; middle row, from left, Courtney Beauchamp, Megan Chapman, Emily Carlson, Faith LeRoy, Addi Hollinshead, Nolan Hill and Julia Manninen; and back row, from left, Skyler Dakota, Nathen Nelson, Daniel Irish, Cody Emanuelson, Alex Wisuri, Chad Racine, Ivan Wiljanen, Francois Montbrun, Anthony Webb, Emily Bertucci, Miranda Hennessy and Cambri Ostola.

These students will join more than 5,000 other conference delegates from across the nation to participate in national level business skills competitions, workshops, and general sessions.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web