Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Affiliated Sites | Home RSS

Argall, Rice win seats on Negaunee school board

November 7, 2012
By JACKIE STARK - Journal Staff Writer ( , The Mining Journal

MARQUETTE - Newcomer Nita Kay Argall beat out incumbent Martin Renaldi Tuesday night for a seat on the Negaunee School Board in a tight race decided by 128 votes.

"I'd like to thank the people of Negaunee for voting for me," said Argall, who earned a total of 1,872 votes. "I really believe this is a sign that they wanted a change on the school board.

Argall said she believes the board's most important issues will be formulating a balanced budget, working with the district's unions to prevent job cuts and promoting a positive relationship between the board and its constituents.

Also elected to the board was incumbent David B. Rice, who earned 2,307 votes, the most of all three candidates.

Renaldi received 1,744 votes. A total of 26 write-in votes were cast.

Many other school boards had seats up for election this year, with no other contested races on the ballot.

Residents in the Gwinn Area Community Schools district elected Bill Nordeen with 2,803 votes and re-elected Ruth Spade with 2,512 votes. They will both serve six-year terms.

Residents in the Ishpeming School District district re-elected Robert Nadeau for a term of six years with 2,230 votes and re-elected Paul Olson for a partial term of two years with a total of 2,266 votes.

Residents of Marquette County in the Mid-Peninsula School district re-elected board members Jennifer B. Bagwell, with 101 votes, and Dale Schneider, with 84 votes, to six-year terms and also re-elected Delores Englund, with 93 votes, and Robert VanDamme, with 95 votes.

Residents of the NICE Community Schools re-elected Nathan Smith, with 2,461. One precinct inside the district has yet to report. NICE Community Schools has one other seat open on the board.

Residents of the Powell Township School district re-elected Jennifer Thompson to a three-year term with 410 votes.

Residents of the Republic-Michigamme Schools district re-elected Mark A. Antilla, with 645 votes, and Dave Holsworth, with 693 votes, to four-year terms.

Jackie Stark can be reached at 906-228-2500, ext. 242.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web