Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Affiliated Sites | Home RSS

Killer Whales win Houghton swim invite

November 6, 2012
By Journal Sports Staff , The Mining Journal

MARQUETTE - A trip to Houghton Oct. 27 proved fruitful for the YMCA Killer Whales swim team.

The squad won the Houghton Halloween Invitational, scoring 3,855 points. The Northern Lights YMCA of Delta and Dickinson counties placed second with 2,270, while Ironwood/Rhinelander (Wis.) finished third with 1,585.

Leading the way for the Killer Whales were a pair of 8-year-olds who qualified for the YMCA state championships in March.

Hannah Winn captured the 25-yard freestyle (17.00), 25 butterfly (19.56) and 50 freestyle (38.14). She qualified in all three events.

Delaney Marchiol earned top honors in the 100 freestyle, covering the distance in 1:127.47.

Other Marquette County Killer Whale swimmers who won events: Kevin Beaghan (100 IM), Lauren Clement (1000 free, 500 free), James DeClerck (200 free), Lindsey Eaton (200 IM), Samuel Fang (50 free, 100 IM, 50 breaststroke), Thomas Griffith (50 free, 200 IM, 100 backstroke) and Hannah Gundlach (100 butterfly, 500 free).

Also, Seiler Hruska (50 breaststroke), Rebecca Jaszczak (50 free, 100 backstroke), Matt Kurin (200 IM), Ben Luke (200 backstroke), Sophia Marr (25 butterfly), Chloe McParlan (25 breaststroke), Andrew Meyer (100 butterfly), Tessa Meyer (200 IM, 100 backstroke, 500 freestyle), Archer Olson (50 free, 500 free), Samantha Olson (100 IM), Lauren Rotundo (50 free, 100 backstroke), Olivia Rouleau (200 backstroke, 100 free, 100 breaststroke) and Daniel Schouten (25 butterfly, 25 backstroke).

In addition, Rachel Schouten (100 breaststroke), Carson Vanderschaaf (25 breaststroke), Colin Vanderschaaf (25 free, 100 free), Erin Vanderschaaf (200 free, 500 free), John Weber (100 backstroke), Ella Whalen (50 free, 25 backstroke, 50 backstroke), Finn Whalen (100 free), Paige Whaley (50 backstroke), Sam Williams (100 butterfly), Jasmine Xu (25 breaststroke) and Elina Zhang (100 backstroke, 50 breaststroke).

Killer Whales who earned medals for a top-three finish were: Taryn Aho, Chloe Bambach, Ashley Betts, Hannah Bleckiner, Wyatt Clement, Ann Desrochers, Hannah Dorvinen, Kelsey Eaton, Ryan Glover, Nora Griffith, Katarzyna Olszewski, Ryszard Olszewski, Allison Ronis, John Schouten, Grace Sobczak, Aiden Swanson, Kendra Tervo, Jill Toorongian, Samantha Verran, Jayme Winn, Benjamin Wood and Kevin Zhang.

The Killer Whales will host their first home event on Saturday, Nov. 17. For more information, visit the website



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web