Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Affiliated Sites | Home RSS

10/26/12 Scorecard

October 26, 2012
The Mining Journal

On the Air


Subject to change

College hockey

High school football

Sports look

Subject to change


Prep football

First round playoffs:


Region 1, District 1: Iron Mountain (5-4) at Negaunee (8-1), 7 p.m.; Manistique (6-3) at Calumet (6-3), 7:30 p.m.


Region 1, District 1: Lincoln Alcona (6-2) at Ishpeming (8-1), 7 p.m.


Region 1, District 1: Forest Park (7-2) at L'Anse (7-2), 7 p.m.


Region 1: Superior Central (6-2) at Rapid River (7-2), 7 p.m.

College soccer

Walsh at Northern Michigan, 4 p.m.

College volleyball

Northern Michigan at Grand Valley State, 7 p.m.

Junior hockey

Thunder Bay Kings at Marquette Electricians, Lakeview Arena, 7 p.m.

College hockey

Notre Dame at Northern Michigan, Berry Events Center, 7:30 p.m.


Prep football

First round playoffs:


Region 1, District 1: Marquette (5-3) at Midland (9-0), 1 p.m.

College football

Northern Michigan at Northwood, noon

College volleyball

Northern Michigan at Ferris State, 3 p.m.

Junior hockey

Thunder Bay Kings at Marquette Electricians, Lakeview Arena, 2 p.m.

College hockey

Notre Dame at Northern Michigan, Berry Events Center, 7:30 p.m.

Prep girls volleyball

Gwinn 3, Westwood 0

Summary (kills-aces-solo blocks)

Gwinn - Moton, 8-2-2; Wedig, 4-2-0; Talsma, 4-7-3; McGuire, 3-0-0; Sanderson, 1-0-0; Bartsch, 1-0-0; Kurian, 0-4-0; Arnsparger, 0-4-0. Totals, 21-19-5.

Westwood - Delongchamp, 6-1-3; Sandin, 5-1-2; Swiedals, 2-1-0; Turino, 3-0-2; Nelson, 2-0-0; Schulte, 2-0-0; Gray, 0-4-0; Maanika, 0-0-2. Totals, 20-7-9.

Score by game:

Gwinn 27 25 25

Westwood 25 21 19

Assists, Gwinn 21 (Kaylee Arnsparger, 13), Westwood, 12 (Taylor Gray, 7); team blocks, Gwinn 5, Westwood; 9 digs, Gwinn 36 (Rachel Kurian 8); Westwood 25 (Elizabeth Dauphinais-VanBuren, 9).

Prep football

Mid-Eastern Confernce all-stars


End - Cody Berg, North Dickinson; Travis Wangerin, Stephenson; Andy Estrada, North Central.

Tackle - Dylan Dario, North Dickinson; Zach Ryan, North Central; Austin Markesun, Stephenson.

Guard - Brady Mashak, North Dickinson; David Bayerl, Stephenson.

Center - Sean Conery, North Dickinson; Joe Pauquette, Munising.

Back - Dominic Christian, North Dickinson; Josh Granquist, North Central; Nolan Lukasik, Stephenson; Dionte Malone, Bark River-Harris.

Quarterback - Austin Grinsteiner, Stephenson; Ken Pekarek, North Dickinson.

Kicker - Dustin Brown, Newberry; Brad Gustafson, North Dickinson.


End - Dominc Christian, North Dickinson; Eric Prestay, North Central; Dustin Crosby, Newberry.

Interior line - Brad Gustafson, North Dickinson; TJ Raether, Stephenson; Taylor Weeks, Newberry; Ian McGinnis, Munising.

Linebacker - Jonas Christian, North Dickinson; Dylan Hanchek, North Central; Quinten Lukasik, Stephenson; James Young, Newberry; Mitchell Johnson, Bark River.

Back - Cody Berg, North Dickinson; Rob Granquist, North Central; Josh Eckert, Stephenson; Jordan Hood, Newberry.

Punter - Dustin Brown, Newberry; Ken Pekarek, North Dickinson.

Prep tennis

All-Upper Peninsula


Co-Players of the Year: Kylee Erickson (West Iron County) and Codi Jenshak (Escanaba).

Coach of the Year: Mark Shanks, Kingsford.

Division 1

Singles - Codi Jenshak, Escanaba; Alison Austin, Gladstone; Samantha Fleming, Kingsford; Maddy Gardiner, Marquette; Molly Jackson, Menominee; and Abbi Kill and Allison Carlson, Negaunee.

Honorable mention: Hannah Tresedder, Kingsford; Hannah Johnson, Marquette; and Sara Henes, Menominee.

Doubles - Braedyn Bosilovatz and Cathryn Wood, Escanaba; Bridget Becker and Nicolle Trudeau, Gladstone; Anna Shanks and Kate Lamy, Kingsford; Janay Walters and Ali VanRemortel, Kingsford; Kate Garrow and Sam Schwemin, Marquette.

Honorable mention: Zoe Berquist and Jalyn Dagenais, Escanaba; Erika Wurth and Kellie McCarthy, Menominee; Ashley Anderson and Mandi Grasso, Negaunee; and Laura Slavsky and Madalyne Connon, Marquette.

Coach of the Year: Kyle Saari, Negaunee.

Division 2

Singles - Kylee Erickson, West Iron Co.; Sarah Massie, Westwood; Laurie March and Katie Brule, Iron Mountain; Jenna Hach and Eve Gendron, Munising; and Katie Piispanen, Ironwood.

Honorable mention: Gabby Croley, Ishpeming; Lydia Asplund and Brooke Luokkala, Gwinn; and Maddie Waara, West Iron Co.

Doubles - Kara Harrington and Alexis Forchini, Westwood; Katie Lusardi and Sarah Pirkola, Iron Mountain; Taylor Croley and Jordann Grigg, Ishpeming; and Daniellee Begalle and Christy Moore, Ironwood.

Honorable mention: Olivia Han and Mallory Tomasoski, West Iron Co; Haylee Lakenen and Taylor Aho, Gwinn; Megan McLaren and Sheena Sowa, Munising; and Taryn Moyle and Katie Rankinen, Westwood..

Coach of the Year: Chris Jackson, Westwood



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web