Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Affiliated Sites | Home RSS

NMU to induct 4 into Hall of Fame April 14

March 23, 2012
By Journal Sports Staff , The Mining Journal

MARQUETTE - The Northern Michigan University Sports Hall of Fame will induct four new members on Saturday, April 14 in the Great Lakes Room of the University Center.

The Class of 2012 will include former assistant football coach Jim Driscoll, All-American basketball player Kris (Manske) Johnson, wide receiver Maurice Mitchell and NCAA National Champion Nordic skier Lindsay Williams.

Driscoll led the Wildcats' defense to national prominence from 1978-85 while Mitchell was a member of the 1975 NCAA National Championship team.

Johnson led the Wildcats to their first NCAA Division II Final Four in 1998 and Williams was a four-time All-American.

A social hour beginning at 6 p.m. will kick off the evening followed by the dinner and program at 7 p.m. The Sports Hall of Fame ceremony will be held in conjunction with the Student-Athlete Awards Banquet.

The public is welcome to attend.

Tickets are $20 for adults and $15 for NMU students and can be purchased at the Superior Dome Ticket Office or by calling 906-226-1032.

The banquet is sponsored in part by Superior Oasis and Downtown EyeCare.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web