Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Affiliated Sites | Home RSS

Negaunee, Ishpeming, NICE choose school boards

November 3, 2010
By JOHANNA BOYLE Journal Ishpeming Bureau

ISHPEMING - Tuesday's election saw races in the Negaunee, NICE and Ishpeming school districts for seats on the three school boards.

Voters in the Negaunee district favored the incumbent candidates while the NICE Community School voters chose three candidates new to the board.

Seven candidates were listed on the ballot for four open seats on the Negaunee Public Schools board.

Reelected for full six-year terms were incumbents Martin Saari with 1,409 votes, Virginia Paulson with 1,204 votes and Fae Collins with 1,102 votes.

Coming in close behind in the vote totals were candidates Michael Adams with 1,067 votes, Tricia Anderson with 1,027 votes and Patrick Thomson with 933 votes.

Re-elected for a partial term ending in 2012 was Susan Goodkind Wideman with 2,127 votes.

For the NICE Community Schools, which includes the townships of Tilden, Ishpeming, Champion, Humboldt, Michigamme, Ely and Spurr, the election filled three seats on the board. Six candidates appeared on the ballot for the six-year terms.

Leading the votes for the three open seats were candidates Wendy Pederson with 1,228 votes, Brett French with 1,188 votes and Eric Luttinen with 923 votes, all newcomers to the board.

Incumbents Tonja Acker-Richards, 741 votes, and Glenn Wing, 792 votes, lost re-election bids. Also on the ballot was Nathan Smith, who received 908 votes.

In an uncontested race for two four-year seats on the Ishpeming School Board, incumbent Angela Kiviniemi received 1,313 votes with Michael Flynn taking the other seat with 1,316 votes.

Johanna Boyle can be reached at 906-486-4401. Her e-mail address is



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web