Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Affiliated Sites | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

WCHA officially unveils postseason plan, new logo

March 23, 2013 - Matt Wellens

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association addressed its future on Saturday afternoon in a press conference from the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul by officially revealing a tweaked logo, its future playoff format and the site of its postseason championship tournament.

The 2014 WCHA Final Five will take place March 21-22 at Van Adel Arena in downstate Grand Rapids and return again in 2016. The 2015 semifinals and final will be played March 20-21 at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minn. and return in 2017.

The Big 10 will hold its league semifinals and final at the Xcel Energy Center in 2014 and 2016.

Despite the weekend only having four teams playing three games in two days, the WCHA will retain it's traditional "Final Five" name for the weekend.

The Broadmoor Trophy will continue to be awarded to the postseason champion.

Only top eight of the league's 10 teams — Alaska, Alaska-Anchorage, Minnesota State, Bemidji State, Michigan Tech, Northern Michigan, Lake Superior State, Ferris State, Bowling Green State and Alabama-Huntsville — will participate in the postseason with the top four seeds hosting the bottom four seeds in a best-of-three first-round series on campus sites. The winners advance to the Final Five.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web

Blog Photos

The WCHA unveiled a new logo today at a press conference in St. Paul.