LWV-sponsored forum a great chance to review candidates

The election season locally kicks off in earnest this week with a League of Women Voters-sponsored candidate forum for the Marquette City Commission.

The gathering, which will feature a total of eight non-partisan candidates including a pair of incumbents, will be held at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday in the commission chambers at Marquette City Hall, located at 300 W. Baraga Ave. There are two seats open on the panel. The forum will be sponsored by the Marquette County Unit of the League of Women Voters of Delta County.

“The league does not support or oppose any candidate or political party. It wants to bring people together, it wants to educate voters and it just seemed like a really good time to do that. It’s a way to be involved in a positive way when things feel so contentious right now, and hopefully make a difference for everybody no matter what their beliefs are,” Darlene Allen, unit leader of the local chapter of LWV, said for a Mining Journal story on the matter. “Our forums have guidelines and rules so it’s very important to us that it remain fair.”

There are eight candidates running for the two open seats on the city commission, including Aaron Andres, Margaret Brumm, Jenn Hill, Matthew Luttenberger, Brian E. Miller, Mike Plourde, Jermey Ottaway and Jenna Smith. Plourde and Smith are incumbents.

We view as great news the reformation of the League of Women Voters in Marquette County. Its steady non-partisan hand on the local tiller can only be a positive development.

We recommend readers give attending the forum serious consideration.