Negaunee competes in High School Bowl

The Negaunee Miners played the Bessemer Speedboys in the second round of High School Bowl and won by a score of 320-80. Forty schools from the Upper Peninsula and Northern Wisconsin field teams for Public TV 13’s High School Bowl tournament, now celebrating 39 years on the air. Negaunee will advance to the third round when they play Stephenson in Game 31, scheduled to air on March 25. Running from November through the championship game in April, the High School Bowl series airs on Public TV 13 Saturdays at 8 pm and Mondays at noon. Find more information on the 2016-2017 tournament at Representing Negaunee, seated from left, are players Ella Uren, Mitchell LaBelle, team captain Thomas Ziegler and Colton Yesney. Standing are alternates Deklan Marshall and Ty Koski with Coach Gina Sorensen. Players for Bessemer are, seated from left, Andy Aspinwall, team captain Blayne Pellinen, Byron Hooyman and Lily Wieringa. Standing are alternates Tad Rowe and Elijah Kalinovik with Coach David Rowe. High School Bowl host Jim Koski is standing at lower left.