EDITOR’S NOTE: Superiorland Yesterdays is prepared by the reference staff at the Peter White Public Library in Marquette.
30 years ago
NEGAUNEE — Four buildings will be spotlighted during the annual Historical Tour of Homes sponsored by the Negaunee Historical Society from 1 to 4 p.m. Friday. First on the list is the home of Clarence LaFave at 205 E. Case St., built in 1885 and occupied by the Seuss family until 1958, when it was purchased by R.K. Richards, and sold again in 1970 to the LaFaves. The home has an Italian marble fireplace, beveled glass windows in three rooms and a carriage house behind the home. The second building is the Vista Theatre on Iron Street, built in 1926 with a large pipe organ for vaudeville acts, as well as movies of the day. The theatre closed in 1972 and, in 1973, sold to the Peninsula Arts Appreciation Council for live theatre performances. The tour also featured St. Paul High School, built in 1934, which replaced an old grade school. This wonderfully preserved building closed in the early 1970s. The last building on tour is the Negaunee High School, an interesting blend of old and new, remodeled in 1966 from the Mather B. Mine offices.
60 years ago
MARQUETTE — When the Peninsula Perambulator in The Mining Journal mentioned earlier that six half-page paintings appearing in the July issue of Food Times portrayed scenes from Drummond Island in Chippewa County, it had no idea that the person who painted those scenes was a former Marquette man. But the fact is that the artist is Leonard Paul Johnson, 28, a native of Marquette and a graduate of Graveraet High School and Northern Michigan College. Johnson is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Oscar P. Johnson, Forsyth, former residents of Marquette.