9 candidates seek seat vacated by Cambensy

MARQUETTE — Nine people have applied to fill the Marquette City Commission seat left vacant by Sara Cambensy, who was elected in November to represent the 109th District in Michigan House of Representatives.

Aaron Andres, David Bradley Aro, Candice Summer Blackstone-Larson, Margaret Brumm, Anthony Wayne Ghiringhelli, Jorma Lankinen, Jermey Ottaway, Jennifer Anne Smith and Tony Tollefson have submitted applications to finish out Cambensy’s term, which expires in November 2018.

Ottaway and Ghiringhelli were two of the six candidates vying for three open commission seats in the city-wide, nonpartisan race during the Nov. 7 election.

Of the six people on the ballot, Tom Baldini received the most votes with 2,922, Fred Stonehouse got 2,259 votes and Peter Frazier got 2,091 votes. All three began their three-year terms in November. Baldini and Frazier both won re-election bids, while Stonehouse, a former member of the commission, was chosen by voters to replace Mike Conley, who decided not to run again.

Ghiringhelli received 1,300 votes, followed by Ottaway who received 1,141 votes and Justin Brugman with 1,061.

The commission decided against appointing fourth-place finisher Ghiringhelli to the seat at its regular meeting on Nov. 13, opting instead to seek applications from the public.

According to the Marquette City Charter, the commission may appoint a new commissioner to fill Cambensy’s partial term by a majority vote. If such an appointment is not made within 60 days, the city clerk is to call a special election.

Lisa Bowers can be reached at 906-228-2500, ext. 242. Her email address is lbowers@miningjournal.net.