Baldini elected mayor

From left, Dave Campana is sworn in as mayor pro-tem Monday evening at the annual organizational meeting of the Marquette City Commission. Mayor Tom Baldini looks on and City Clerk Kris Hazeres swears Campana in. (Journal photo by Mary Wardell)

MARQUETTE — Switching places from their previous roles, Tom Baldini is the new mayor and Dave Campana the new mayor pro tem after Monday’s organizational meeting of the Marquette City Commission.

Formerly, Campana was mayor and Baldini was mayor pro tem.

One new commissioner and two incumbents were also sworn in at Monday’s meeting, following the Nov. 7 non-partisan city-wide election. Baldini and Commissioner Peter Frazier were re-elected to their second terms, while Commissioner Fred Stonehouse, who served on the commission from 2008-2014, was elected.

Commissioners serve three-year terms and may not serve more than two consecutive terms.

Baldini was elected mayor in two rounds of voting among commissioners. The first vote was a 3-3 tie between Commissioner Sarah Reynolds and Baldini, and in the second round, Baldini won 4-2.

Baldini thanked his colleagues for their confidence, adding that he was humbled and honored, and that all the commissioners bring a significant level of interest and commitment to the commission.

“We have diverse opinions, which I believe is a benefit to the commission and to the residents of the city,” Baldini said. “We’ve had some exciting and major changes over the last two to three years, and we’re going to have some more in the coming new year. It’s going to be another one of those years.”

Baldini thanked former Mayor Campana for his leadership and mentorship.

Election of mayor pro tem took six rounds of voting.

In the first round, Campana and Frazier each received two votes, with Stonehouse and Commissioner Mike Plourde receiving one each. The second vote was identical. The third round was similar, but with Reynolds receiving one vote and Plourde just one.

In the fourth round, Campana received three votes, and Plourde, Frazier and Stonehouse each received one. In the fifth, Campana received three votes, Reynolds two and Stonehouse one.

In the final round, Campana received four votes, while Reynolds received one and Stonehouse received one.

The commission also accepted the resignation of Commissioner Sara Cambensy at Monday’s meeting. Cambensy won last Tuesday’s special election to fill the remainder of the late Rep. John Kivela’s term in the Michigan 109th District House of Representatives seat.

“We wish her the best,” Baldini said. “And we are confident that her experience on this commission with our challenging issues of the role of local government in our society, and given her practical experience of the needs and challenges of local government, we can assure her that we will be talking with her about revenue sharing, infrastructure funding and other such topics.”

Mary Wardell can be reached at 906-228-2500, ext. 248. Her email address is