Ishpeming competes in High School Bowl

Representing Ishpeming, seated from left, are players Isaac Hooper, team captain Kelsey Routhier, Kyle Ericson and Audrey Stetson. Standing are alternates Makenzee VanBuren, Jackson Herman and Drake Sundberg with Coaches Jodi Crist and Becky Fox. Players for Manistique are, seated from left, Sophia Ziemba, Zach Matchinski, team captain Isaac Anderson and Anna VanDyck. Standing are alternates Elle Pugh and Madison Schwartz with Coach Jackie Burns. High School Bowl host Jim Koski is standing at lower left. Major production funding for High School Bowl is provided by The Ray & Peg Hirvonen Foundation, and by Janice Mills of Bark River, and by the Donald & Audrey Anderson Foundation. Local support is provided by 17 Upper Peninsula Credit Unions: TruNorth Federal Credit Union, U.P. State Credit Union, Tahquamenon Area Credit Union, Soo Co-op Credit Union, Delta County Credit Union, Integra First Federal Credit Union, Upper Michigan Community Credit Union, Great Lakes First Federal Credit Union, Michigan Tech Employees Federal Credit Union, Gogebic County Federal Credit Union, Limestone Federal Credit Union, Baraga County Federal Credit Union, Iron Mountain - Kingsford Community Federal Credit Union, Peninsula Federal Credit Union, U.P. Catholic Credit Union, Northern United Federal Credit Union and Marquette Community Federal Credit Union. Local support is also provided by Petrucelli and Waara, Attorneys at Law; in partnership with the Regional Educational Service Agencies & Intermediate School Districts of the Upper Peninsula.

The Ishpeming Hematites played the Manistique Emeralds in the second round of High School Bowl and were defeated by a score of 230-70. Forty schools from the Upper Peninsula and Northern Wisconsin field teams for Public TV 13’s High School Bowl tournament, now celebrating 40 years on the air. Running from November through the championship game in April, the High School Bowl series airs on Public TV 13 Saturdays at 8 p.m. and Mondays at noon. Find more information on the 2017-2018 tournament at